This afternoon, while we were enjoying the Labour Day holiday, my husband and I were watching “Gogglebox”.   While we were watching the Goggleboxers, the Goggleboxers were watching “E.T”.  And then my husband dropped a bombshell.

HE HAD NEVER SEEN “E.T.”.

I was shocked, dear reader, shocked to my very core.  WHAT THE…?  HOW COULD THIS BE?

So, as my stepson had also not seen it (again, WHAT THE…?  I must have seriously failed in my stepmother duties), we fired up the DVD player and pressed “play”.

I don’t think I have sufficient words to tell you how much I love this movie.  It’s been years since I’ve seen it myself, but it still got me right in the feels.  It is so beautiful, so funny, so poignant, so sweet – and I bawled just as much as when I saw it the first (second, third, fourth…) time.  I bawled at the sad bits, I bawled at the happy bits.  I just kept bawling.  It didn’t matter that I knew everything that was going to happen.  The tender and loving relationship between Elliott and E.T. is just – well, if you’ve seen it, you know what I’m talking about.  And if you haven’t, find a copy wherever you can and watch it.  Bring tissues.

It’s just magic.

