So I signed up to Camp NaNoWriMo again this July.  My goal is 60 hours of writing/editing/researching – whatever I feel like.  ‘I can do this’, I told myself.  ‘That’s only two hours a day! And I’ve got a week off work!’

But up until Tuesday (11 July) I had done nothing.  Zilch.  Zip.  Zero.  So I was already 22 hours behind in my goal!  Aaaaaagggghhhh!  But I put in four hours yesterday – which was great – so I just have to keep doing that.  Easy.  (Gulp!)

The trouble with being on leave is that I’m just too relaxed.  I’ve also been distracted by Netflix (‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’ (so awesome – it captures the atmosphere of the books brilliantly, and Neil Patrick Harris steals every one of his scenes as Count Olaf) and ‘Stranger Things’ (OMG I’ve just started episode three and it’s scary and brilliant and everything you’ve heard about it is true) plus I’m reading ‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern (it’s amazing, poetic and magical) and listening to the Harry Potter books on CD whenever I’m in my car – plus hanging out with the family and the in-laws from Melbourne – and now I’ve spent time writing this blog post instead of editing or whatever…

I’m not making excuses.  (Yes you are, Kate). 

I’m allowed time off!  (Who’s going to do it if you don’t, Kate?)  

Oh, shut up, Kate.  (Rude!)

Okay!  I’ll do some more writing/editing/researching today! (Good!)

