I had no energy yesterday (a week off work wore me out) so I wrote nothing and I edited nothing.  But I did cook a mean Shepherd’s Pie for dinner!

Tonight I did an hour’s writing and an hour’s research, bringing my total to 20 hours.  I’m a third of the way to my goal!  Yay for me!  (But I still have to average three hours a night to finish on time, which isn’t happening at the moment…)

I was so keen to get back to work today that as soon as I set my alarm I leapt out of bed, ready to start the day.  Actually, that was a lie.  I did leap out of bed – to check the Internet to see who had been chosen as the 13th Doctor.  Seriously.  I HAD TO KNOW.  I knew they were revealing it after the Wimbledon final on Sunday, but that was England time, not Australia time!  So I had to wait until this morning to find out.  6.15 am this morning, to be precise.

I was a little shocked that (a) it wasn’t Kris Marshall and (b) that it was a woman – Jodie Whittaker (I have seen her in “Broadchurch” and she’s a brilliant actress – but – but – she’s a girl!)  I was a bit shocked, I have to say.  I’ve been watching Doctor Who my whole life, and I didn’t think it would ever happen (although I loved Missy – she was awesome).

But I’m a loyal Whovian (my favourites from Classic Who are Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker), and I’ve loved what each of the modern Doctors has brought to the show.  I’ve grown very fond of Peter Capaldi (those eyebrows!) and it’s always hard to say goodbye (I didn’t want you to go either, David Tennant).  But it’s Doctor Who, and regeneration is just part of what makes it so great.   And now I’ve had a day to get used to the idea, I think having a female Doctor is pretty cool, and I look forward to watching 13’s adventures (perhaps she’ll get a hot male companion…).

Then, to top it all off, Game of Thrones returned!  Yay!  I get goosebumps as soon as the opening theme starts playing.  There was some serious girl power in this opening episode, and all the surviving Starks – survived!  I don’t think that’s too much of a spoiler.  But I’m not saying anymore because I hate spoilers myself, so I’m not going to do it to anyone who might be reading this blog and hasn’t seen the episode yet.  (I still haven’t forgiven my mother for telling me how everyone died in “The Guns of Navarone” WHILE I WAS WATCHING IT!)

But I’d better get to sleep now because blogs don’t pay the bills, people!  (And neither do my novels – yet…)  Goodnight!

 

 

